Rapper T.I. Explains His Son’s Arrest

Talia R.
5 min readSep 9, 2022

--

even though he shouldn’t have to explain shit….

King posted his own mugshot on Instagram after being released. source: blackenterprise.com/t-i-and-tinys-son-king-harris-speaks-out-following-arrest

I would be a horrible celebrity because I would always be popping off on somebody.

Parenting is a full-time, hard as fuck but the most rewarding job. There is no guide to tell us how to navigate it and even if there were, it would not be a one size fits all kind of guide. I say this because recently T.I.’s eighteen-year-old son, King got arrested with rapper Boosie’s son, Tootie Raww. What they are charged with, that has not been released.

https://www.newsunzip.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Tootie-Raww-height-is-5-feet-4-inches.jpg

Fans (or nosy, too opinionated people) have bombarded not only T.I.’s IG but King’s as well with unwarranted “advice” on what he should be saying to his son; to the point that T.I. made a Instagram video (not judging him at all with his decision to do this; I see why he did, I just would not have done it) explaining his reaction or lack thereof according to them, of his son’s arrest. Here is what he said,

“Got a small request. Stop hitting me and getting in my comments telling me what to tell King ok? I know my son. Think I ain’t told my son, his mama and his grandma that his ass is going to prison if he goddamn keeps this up? Ain’t no way around it. Ain’t nothing I’m going to be able to do about it. Can’t nobody stop it but him. I’ve already had the conversation, I’ve already made my piece with it. Cause I know that energy-I was that energy. I know how it’s going to turn out.”

T.I. finishes with,

“King’s a good kid. He’s chasing after the wrong shit and I trust in God to deal with it the way He sees fit. Now he (King) going to have to go through it and get through it.”

Sometimes you can do all the right things in raising your child; equipping them with as much knowledge as you can so they are prepared once they are on their adult shit, however some kids literally have to do something bad for all of that to click in their heads that whatever they are doing is wrong and has consequences behind it. I’m speaking from personal experience. My, at the time 17-year-old son, was arrested and it threw me and his father for a loop! Thankfully he served his time and is back in the community with his family like he belongs. All we can do as parents when this happen is pray that they learn their lesson the first time and it won’t be the start of life in and out of prison. It is tough as hell in real life to see your child in handcuffs; I can only imagine going through that in the public eye with all of these public opinions.

Parents catch amnesia when they have kids; forgetting what they did and the mentality they had when they were growing up. I’m not condoning whatever these young men did nor am I dumbing it down as if it is not a serious situation because it is. I just need people to put shit in perspective and be realistic. Stop being so quick to blame the parents for what their kids do when they are not around their parents. Lets be real, we can’t be by our kids' side 24/7 as much as we would like to be. Yes, there are parents out there who may accept this lifestyle - glorify it even thinking it is cute not realizing they are setting their child up for failure in the future.

https://celebrityinsider.org/rapper-t-i-releases-statement-after-donald-trump-uses-his-song-to-attack-joe-biden-in-campaign-ad-401343/

T.I. is a street nigga, we all know this, the man doesn’t deny that. By the time King was born the rapper had hung up that lifestyle. I don’t believe he glorifies that life like a lot of these new rappers do. All he did was tell about his life, what he went through and how he got through it (with some serious dance bangers in that mix too). King, like many others, believe they are about that life until that life really catches up with them resulting in death or prison. This will be a helluva reality check for this young man.

I find it so odd the obsession people have with celebrities and their lives. It’s like an unhealthy addiction. I blame half on the big bad monster called social media and the other half on celebrities. Celebrities want to connect with their fans so much, which there is nothing wrong with that; however, they post EVERYTHING, when everything is not meant to be shared on social media. Stop posting shit and then get pissed or feel some type of way when an irrelevant person voices their opinion. You don’t like the comments, then don’t post what you shitted the night before on the gram or don’t read the comments. How about that? This is why I would be horrible at being a celebrity. I’ll cuss a person out real quick if they start talking reckless. I don’t like people in my business and I damn sure not about to explain some shit to someone I’ve never met nor will ever want to meet.

To T.I. and Tiny, you do not owe any of these people nothing. They do not live in your home, they are not in your inner circle of family and friends because if they were they would not run to social media to voice their opinions they will be real with you and come to you straight up. And none of them help raise this young man or any of your children. So what if they buy your music, you are still not obligated to tell them shit. You cannot please everyone. If you did not make a video addressing your son’s situation somebody would still have something to say. You’re damned if you do and damned if you don’t so I would say fuck ’em.

If you were T.I., would you have responded on your Instagram? Or would you have not responded at all? Inquiring minds like mines want to know. Lets start this conversation.

Peace and Love

--

--

Talia R.

Lover of words. I write for black women over 40 who are living life on their terms. No Redbull, no wings.