The Hate You Give

Talia R.
4 min readNov 22, 2022
source: amazon.com/Shop/the hate you give

I am seriously starting to hate hopping on Twitter because the climate has me turned off.

Question, when you see negative tweets on your timeline do you unfollow that person or group? Or do you just keep it pushing? Me, personally have kept it pushing but lately I’ve been thinking maybe it is time to cut some ties. Take a negative post and put it up against a positive one, which one will get more likes or retweets? The negative ones are more likely to get the most attention. That is weird to me. Why put out that kind of energy all of the time? It is draining. One latest thing had me running to my pen and pad.

Latto source: albumoftheyear.org

Latto. I love me some Latto. Ever since Rap Game I have rocked with her. Actually…pause. I want to take a moment to speak to my rap Queens. Bay..bay yall are killing the game! Growing up there were females in the rap game but not as much as it is now so I salute every last one of you. Latto, Cardi B, Nicki Minaj, Glorilla, City Girls, Megan, SZA all of yall are bomb ass Queens! I love it. Keep that shit going. Ok, back to Latto. Recently she was nominated for an AMA. Unfortunately, she walked out with none which is fine she still in her bag, being unbothered. The next day baby girl got blasted with hate on Twitter. Not just a little hate, I mean a full on, feeling it through my laptop level type of hate. This made me realize how us normal folk take fandom to a whole higher level that is teetering on obsession. I read the comments. They talked about her being the worse rapper ever to looking old as hell. If you recall, Latto went through a beef with Nicki Minaj. Are these celebrities paying yall money on the low just for yall to belittle and antagonize their ops that I don’t know about? The Barbz do not play. When Nicki does not fuck with an artist, all of the Barbz will come out and show out. Imagine being an artist and you are trending for “failing”. Memes were created just to shit on Latto. I crack on people, but my people are the worst at wanting to enjoy and be a part of a celebrity’s downfall. You don’t rock with Latto, cool bitch then keep it pushing. It’s that simple. Unless I’m doing a blog post I am not running to Twitter to speak hate on a person I have never met. That is bad energy that I do not want to partake in. I have more important things to do like write my novel.

Nicki Minaj Source: billboard.com

NEWSFLASH: Nicki Minaj will never ride for yall as yall ride for her. She is not about to slide through and play Captain Save a Hoe getting you out of the nine levels of fuckery you call your life, lets be real people. The interesting thing is the majority of beefs between female artists are started by fans. The young’ens fall for it and entertains the conjured-up beef.

Stay off of social media as much as possible because it is easy to fall in that rabbit hole of hate. Never allow someone you have not met make you come out of your character. Why in the hell would you even want fans like that? People that are comfortable with dragging your op. They claim they are loyal but let a rap artist release some garbage those same fans will hop to the next so fast. I want positive vibes only fans. They know when to celebrate greatness and still support if I slip up.

So please back off of Latto and all the other female rap artists trying to make a spot for themselves. Go find something else to do that is productive. We cannot keep tearing each other down. You are not going to die if you compliment someone else. Stop trying to be internet thugs for some likes.

Peace and love

--

--

Talia R.

Lover of words. I write for black women over 40 who are living life on their terms. No Redbull, no wings.